Team unpublished

ThinGap Board of Directors

George W. Holbrook, Jr.

George Holbrook is Managing Partner of Bradley Resources Company LLC, a private investment company which organizes and finances ventures in technology, medical devices and natural resource and power plant development, and manages a portfolio of public companies.

Mr. Holbrook is Chairman of ThinGap, LLC and Director of Unite-to -Light. Former directorships include: Vapore, Inc. Pluromed, Tailsman, Inc., Merrill Lynch Institutional Fund 1977-2003, and Thoratech Corporation.

He is advisor to: Director’s Council – Institute for Energy Efficiency UCSB, Emergence Fund, Music Academy of the West – Investment Committee, Alfred University – Trustee Investment Committee, Southern Connecticut Health Systems.

Mr. Holbrook earned a BS in Mechanical Engineering from Cornell University. He also attended Philips Exeter Academy.

Sarah Gallagher

Sarah Gallagher was named the President & CEO of ThinGap in 2011 after a three year tenure with the company where she held various positions related to the company’s financial and business development activities.

A passionate believer in the benefit ThinGap’s technology can bring to the marketplace, Sarah has expanded the company’s awareness and outreach campaign resulting in new global opportunities in aerospace, medical devices, unmanned systems and robotics. In addition, her focus in delivering a unique and market leading motor has resulted in an expanded engineering department, advances in manufacturing and new levels of motor power density. To better serve current and future global customers and ensure quality, Ms. Gallagher has established multiple international manufacturing facilities.

Ms. Gallagher is a California native and received her BS in Business from California State University Channel Islands.

John Bowers

John Bowers holds the Fred Kavli Chair in Nanotechnology, and is the Director of the Institute for Energy Efficiency and a Professor in the Departments of Electrical and Computer Engineering and Materials at UCSB. He is a cofounder of Aurrion, Aerius Photonics and Calient Networks. Dr. Bowers received his M.S. and Ph.D. degrees from Stanford University and worked for AT&T Bell Laboratories and Honeywell before joining UC Santa Barbara. Dr. Bowers is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and a fellow of the IEEE, OSA and the American Physical Society. He is a recipient of the OSA/IEEE Tyndall Award, the OSA Holonyak Prize, the IEEE LEOS William Streifer Award and the South Coast Business and Technology Entrepreneur of the Year Award. He and coworkers received the EE Times Annual Creativity in Electronics (ACE) Award for Most Promising Technology for the hybrid silicon laser in 2007.

Bowers’ research is primarily in optoelectronics and photonic integrated circuits. He has published ten book chapters, 600 journal papers, 900 conference papers and has received 54 patents. He has published 180 invited papers and conference papers, and given 16 plenary talks at conferences.

Milton Chang

Milton Chang is managing director of Incubic llc. He is the author of Toward Entrepreneurship (, writes a monthly column for the Laser Focus World and spend his time mentoring entrepreneurs. He was president of Newport and New Focus and is currently director of Aurrion and MBio Diagnostics. He is a trustee of the California Institute of Technology and a member of the SEC Advisory Committee on Small and Emerging Companies. He has served on Visiting Committee on Advanced Technology of the National Institute of Standards and Technology and the authoring committee of the National Academies’ Optics and Photonics: Essential Technologies for Our Nation. Chang is past president of the IEEE Photonics Society and the Laser Institute of America, and is fellow of IEEE, LIA, and the Optical Society of America.

Harold Shattuck

Harold Shattuck brings an extensive experience in both early stage company management and technical expertise. He has had a wealth of experience in all the corporate management aspects of computer software, hardware and manufacturing through engineering and marketing assignments at IBM, SVP Operations at Amdahl Corporation and as Chairman, President and CEO of Systems Industries, Inc., a public corporation focused on tape and disk storage systems.

In 1985 Mr. Shattuck entered the world of venture capital investing and banking as a Partner at Montgomery Securities. From 1988-91 he was Vice President and Managing Partner of Xerox Venture Capital, and served as Director on a number of Corporate Boards. From 1991-2000, Mr. Shattuck served as Founder and President of MC TecInvest, Inc. investing in US venture capital partnerships for Swiss corporate interests. Today, Mr. Shattuck is a Managing Partner of Palo Alto Consulting Group that specializes in providing interim senior management, CEO coaching, product marketing, financial and business development. He is also a director of Blue Sky Research and President of CFV Royalties Inc.(formerly Vapore Corp.)

ThinGap Engineering Management

Evan Frank joined ThinGap in 2011 and was named ThinGap’s Chief Technology Officer in 2013. His responsibilities include technical and business strategy, engineering management, coordination with customers, and electromechanical design. Prior to joining ThinGap Mr. Frank worked at the Wadsworth Center on microscopy systems engineering and at the NASA Jet Propulsion Lab on electromechanical systems and deployable structure design. He received his B.S. and M.S. in Mechanical Engineering from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute in Troy, New York.

Len Wedman joined ThinGap in 2002 as a Electromagnetics Designer responsible for electromagnetic design of new machines and systems and has worked in that capacity ever since. His experience has been in finite element analysis and the development of closed form analysis to compliment design and development processes. Prior to joining ThinGap Mr. Wedman was an Electromagnetics Design Consultant. He has also had engineering and technical management positions at Westingouse Electric, Kollmorgen, Sierracin Magnedyne, Kimco-BEI, Pacific Scientific, and Turbodyne. He has broad-based experience designing electromagnetic devices ranging from large superconducting machines to linear magnetic actuators and a multitude of special application rotating machines. Mr. Wedman is co-authored on 10 patents in magnetic device technology. He received his BSc from the University of Alberta, Canada and his MASc from the University of British Columbia in Vancouver, Canada.